culture / memories / moments / personal / spirit

The view from here is getting better with you by my side

I just made my usual Tuesday/Thursday morning commute to school. I’m now sitting in my car under the early dark sky and on the ride over I was listening to some music. Music always helps me stay awake during my commutes anywhere, especially in the early mornings and late nights. So I’m one of those weirdos who firmly believes, as cheesy as it sounds, that if you put your playlist on shuffle, the songs that play in whatever specific order they play are meant for you; you’re supposed to hear them for that day because of whatever reason. Call it fate, that’s just what I think. A song came on by an artist I haven’t heard from in a while and it caught me off guard a little bit. Teenage Sabrina came out for a little bit when We The Kings started playing from their new album. It’s honestly been a while since I’ve listened to WTK and it just tug at my heartstrings because I’ve been feeling some type of way and their lyrics really got to my inner core and made me feel a ton better. I used to be crazy about WTK and I stuck with them since the beginning. After Smile Kid, I started to part with them and I think I only really gave one listen to Sunshine State of Mind. They now have two albums out since then and I’m really going to go back and give them more attention. They seemed to understand everything I felt during my adolescence so it’ll be cool to see how they’ve grown as artists and how I’ve grown as a person and to see if they collide with each other. They’ve really built the foundation for my pursuit of endless positivity and they’ve been the paradigm for how I want to live my life. I follow the band members on social media and I’ve seem them grow from there; Travis is a dad now and his wife is absolutely beautiful. I wish each of them all of the happiness in the world because they deserve it and they’ve brought so much hope into my life. I know I sound like another obsessed fangirl (ugh) but I don’t get crazy about too many people.

Thank you for always teaching me to brawl for the cause, no matter the cost. Thank you for bracing me for love, sweet love, secret love. (Too bad it was for nothing at all) Thank you for allowing me to love where I come from, where my roots have grown so deep. Thank you for letting me find the guts to fly and soar through the night. Thank you for reminding me to Stay Young. Thank you for making me feel like I’m a war worth dying for. I’ve finally found the kid who caved me in and I now have a love I know I won’t regret. Thank you for giving me a song for when I think too much. Thank you for letting me take control of the world like it’s all I have to hold onto. I have his pictures on my wall, he chases me until we fall. He’s the one I write about and he never lets me down. Thank you for reminding me that love is all we need. We drove to the dead end of my street and made love where no one else could see. I’m holding on for the long ride, even though it won’t be easy. I’ve found the one to take my hand and fill the empty pages as I write the story of my life.

We The Kings was one of my favorite bands in the world and they will always have a place in my heart and that’s why I’m dedicating this post to them. Thank you, Travis, Danny, Charles & Coley for giving me life since 2005. Remember to smile kid, there’s only one way out.

Leave a Reply

