culture / fitness / identity / life / personal

A call 4 change

I’ve been neglecting my body for quite some time now. I don’t want this to be another instance of temporary satisfaction. I need to make some changes so I can take better care of myself. I know being a college student comes with stress, cravings, and sleep deprivation amongst other things; but I don’t want to feel the nasty effects anymore.

I work at Disneyland, so there goes any chance to have a consistent sleeping schedule, but I’m 100% okay with that (anything for the mouse!) Second, Summer is almost here and that means I’ll have more time to catch up on some sleep (optimism). I’m trying to lower my stress levels by taking things as they come instead of wasting my time worrying– about anything really.

I hate the word diet. It’s so negative and boring and idk, I just don’t like the word. But, I need to start eating healthier to increase my energy. Lately I’ve been eating a lot of junk food and at really odd hours, not giving my body the chance to digest it. I need to rev up my metabolism and just take the bad stuff out. More water, no soda or juice. I can’t get rid of coffee but I’ll try to get rid of bread. I’m trying to cut out filler foods as much as I can (soooo hard!) I need to work on eating cleaner and paying more attention to what I put in my body. It sounds like a lot of work, but if it means feeling better when I wake up in the mornings, then so be it. Sometimes I wake up feeling as if I got hit by a train. I don’t like that!

And of course, comes the physical part. I’ve been meaning to return to my pilates studio but I don’t want to make an appearance while being out of shape, so I’ll probably be taking my dog out more, going on runs when I can and just trying to move as much as possible during my day.

It’s the 1st of May so what better day to start? I can map my progress and compare myself today with the last day of the month and hopefully I’ll be set to change things for the long run!

I’m sorry to bore you with my plans for self-improvement; I know it’s a weird subject but this is what’s going to happen, let’s see if I can stick with it.

Leave a Reply

