Uncategorized

Tweet Tweet, Muthaf*cka!

Why I’m thankful for social media.

Everyone can agree that Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr and Facebook have caused quite a change in the way we communicate, in my generation especially. There’s tons of people, myself included, who will sometimes bash social media and what it’s doing to society.

There are so many flaws and defects.. not with the technology, but with the message it sends and the way it’s manipulating us. Cyber-bullying is very real, the self-esteem of girls still fluctuates almost hourly, and guys are in no way omitted from the effects of social media.

But, we’ve grown up with this kind of technology and honestly, it is a part of who I am.

I grew up in a world where technology and information was accessed in a matter of seconds. Way back to my elementary school days, I was required to visit the computer lab. I’ve been raised on this stuff since I can remember.

Passwords. I have so many passwords for things I don’t remember signing up for. Passwords have become an important part of my life, because they’re everywhere. From my debit card PIN, to my Twitter account, to this very website’s password. Passwords have become routine and you know what, I’m okay with that. Screen Shot 2015-02-05 at 8.49.21 AM

Profiles? Yeah, i’ve grown up creating those too. Starting with Aol Instant Messenger (AIM) you guys know what I’m talking about! We all had one! Myspace days and those glorious duck faced pictures we all tried to take. Honestly, Myspace taught me the very basics of HTML coding, so I’m very thankful for that.

But we’ve been creating profiles to describe who we are in one page. From the colors of the background, the songs on the playlist, the Photobucket images we used, or even the filters we used on our profile pictures. One things many people don’t realize is that this generation has been trying to express themselves from the get-go. I definitely think profiles are a form of expression– especially in the technologic era we’re in today.

I know some of you have a ranking order of social media, the ones you put more effort into and that’s just the way it is. My hierarchy of social networks is 1) Instagram 2) Twitter 3) Tumblr 4) Facebook What’s yours? Please share!

Each network has a different audience and that’s what’s most important to you. Are you trying to emphasize your life’s content or are you strictly visual? Or maybe you just like to show people what you’re eating because it looks so damn good and other people should be jealous. Maybe you’re tweeting your favorite song lyrics because.. because you can.

And that’s what I love about social media. In a way, there’s no point to it but we do it anyways and we don’t need a purpose. There is no reward for posting a picture to IG, unless you’re all about the number of likes you get (which some people are) and that’s definitely a whole new topic.

I can’t count how many times I’m on Tumblr. Tumblr is my absolute favorite because I’ve come across of bizarre things. Bizarre in both good and bad ways. Tumblr makes me laugh more than anything and it’s just about a community of people who find humor in the same things. But it’s so much more than that. Tumblr is a vast territory with some very special people and I will stay loyal to the Tumblr world forever. If being a Tumblr nerd is wrong, I don’t want to be right!

—Are you still reading? Thank you for staying with me this long.. I feel I’m starting to rant a little—

All in all, social media has given me a whole new perspective on the world and despite the numerous assertions about the stupidity of it, it’s a big part of my life.

Without it, I probably wouldn’t know what’s going on with a lot of the people I knew in high school. Some don’t really care about that sort of stuff, but I do! I like to see who’s getting married, who’s having a baby, and just to see how life is moving along for the people I knew and grew up with for the majority of my early life.

It also helps me connect with family, as this is everyone’s main objective towards social media. I can send photos to family I have in other countries or I can simply see what my cousin, who lives maybe 20 mins away, is doing on her Thursday morning.

I love social media, and I’m really grateful for it. This generation has something on all the other generations because this was our history. We were there to experience first hand these huge social networks from the ground up.

I think that’s honestly pretty cool and it shouldn’t be condemned!

So, what’s on your mind? What’s happening?

Leave a Reply

