Uncategorized

Internal Desire: Realized (for now)

I want to write.

And I’ll tell you right now, this is something big for me.

I find so much joy in writing. I’m finding myself falling in love with it more and more each day. There’s something so beautiful about words and what they do to the world and the mind, for that matter that just ignites a flame inside me. That was über corny, but whatever. In the words of Edward Cullen himself– “…It’s like a drug to me. It’s like you’re my own personal brand of heroin.” I couldn’t agree more with my feelings towards words. I am addicted.

Screen Shot 2015-02-01 at 9.52.45 AM

I’ve never really given much thought about what I want to do with my life. Ask anyone and they’ll tell you I haven’t a clue about what I want to pursue. And it’s 100% okay. But as of late, I’ve been realizing my love and passion for learning and relaying information to the public and the possibility of a future in writing is starting to become more real. It scares me a little. No, it scares me a lot. It’s a big risk. Am I good enough? That’s probably the question I ask myself every minute of every day, but I’m here writing this with that exact question in mind and I will not let that stop me.

This is the Preamble to the Society of Professional Journalists Code of EthicsMembers of the Society of Professional Journalists believe that public enlightenment is the forerunner of justice and the foundation of democracy. Ethical journalism strives to ensure the free exchange of information that is accurate, fair and thorough. An ethical journalist acts with integrity. The rest can be found http://www.spj.org/ethicscode.asp

I strongly believe more people should get into the habit of writing– whether it’s for a purpose or for pleasure. It’s incredible what it can do. I always have my journal in hand, documenting every moment I can. I do it for myself but I can see myself doing it for everyone else in the future. As of now though, despite this declaration of action I’ve just made, I still don’t know where I want to take writing. I’m sure that part is very important, but I have time. And I’m hoping it’ll find me instead of me aimlessly searching for what it is I’m meant to do.

Mom, if you’re reading this.. well I figured one thing out in my giant mess of goals and ambitions I have for myself.

So cheers to that!

XO Sabrina Parada

Leave a Reply

